Love heartbreak & the damage of austerity

@Lilyth Poetry

Let down

You let me down,

At my wedding,

You let me down,

When you said you’d be there at the hospital upon arrival of our babies,

Birthday, Christmas.

I stared out of the foggy window, with my hand pressed against it as my step mother got my bag ready.

You didn’t arrive, you wasn’t delayed. You didn’t forget. You didn’t get caught up in an accident.

You just let me down,

I wasn’t important enough.

Graduation, you didn’t attend, when I was at the hospital for an operation,

You didn’t call, you didn’t call,

you let me down.

I try not be so sensitive,

When friends do the same.

But it’s difficult, I have to cut them out,

To prevent myself, being let down,

So my children don’t believe it’s normal,

When it’s important,

Be there. please.

Don’t let me down.

Leave a comment

Welcome to my poems, words and ramblings, i’d be nothing without your support thanks for returning!