Love heartbreak & the damage of austerity

@Lilyth Poetry

Regret

Regret

I don’t know why

But it revisits me

Time to time

The summer of we

I came to meet you

At the Ella street festival

So in love

Like it was yesterday

You held my hand

On the sly

You came across as really shy guy

Guilty now

It’s a place I wish to be

Back in the summer

The summer of we

Where all I craved

Was your kiss at the end of the day

And all you saw

Was my eyes and more

A flame to a flame

That burned the whole plane down

Gentle words like gorgeous girl

Dangerous worlds like

You’re my world

Broken worlds

Like I can’t push through

The stress you cause

Mistrustful

But I don’t want to let you go

Because I fucking love you

It’s all gone now

And it’s just regret

I wished it wasn’t true

I cried and you held

I always wondered why

You had a hold of me

And watched me cry

All that time

One big fat lie

and still I don’t know why

It revisits me

The summer of us

That summer of we.

Leave a comment

Welcome to my poems, words and ramblings, i’d be nothing without your support thanks for returning!